Stock car results

February 17, 2001|By MARIO RENTERÍA, Staff Writer

IMPERIAL — Stock car race enthusiasts gathered Saturday for a day of fast cars and collisions at the Imperial Valley Expo here.

The Southwest Racing Association continued its inaugural 2000-2001 season Saturday at the Imperial Valley Speedway at the IV Expo.

The main event race for factory stock cars featured 11 cars and came to a dramatic conclusion.

John Seaman of Imperial was in first place during the final lap but as he was coming around the last turn Tom Harrison of Yuma tapped him in the rear to push him out of the way, allowing Harrison to beat Seaman to the finish line by half a car length.

In the night's second main event, Mike Lerwill of Lakeside outlasted 11 other drivers to win the pro-stock class.

The final race of the day was the main event for the modified stock cars. Doug Peterson of Yuma ran past 10 other drivers to claim the win.


Racing began with modified stock cars featuring Bill Miller of Arizona, Steve Linthicum of Yucaipa and Duane Rogers and Keith Smith both of Imperial kicked off the afternoon. Miller won the initial heat.

In the first factory stock heat, Seaman was victorious over five other drivers.

The second factory stock heat was won by Rusty Johnson of Imperial.

The next race was also a pro-stock heat and Daffern won the race with Tony Lentz of Brawley right on his tail.

Peterson led most of the next race and picked up a win in the modified stock cars heat, beating five other drivers.

In the next heat for modified cars Mark Allison of Yuma beat a field of five for the win.

Bill Miller of Yuma won the final modified stock car heat.

The next races are scheduled for March 10 at the IV Expo.

Staff Writer Mario Rentería can be reached at 370 8549.


Imperial Valley Press Online Articles