Supervisors face challengers

rematch set in sheriff's race

December 09, 2001|By LAURA MITCHELL, Staff Writer

Friday marked the deadline for candidates to file at the county Registrar of Voters office for the March 5 primary elections, and two Imperial County supervisor seats will face well-known challengers.

District 1 Supervisor Tony Tirado is being challenged by Victor M. Carrillo, mayor of Calexico. District Five Supervisor Wally Leimgruber of Holtville will face longtime Brawley City Councilman Esteban "Steve" Vasquez.

Three Imperial Irrigation District seats are up for election. Division 1 Director Andy Horne is being opposed by Johnny Hernandez, a former Central Union High School trustee. Both Horne and Hernandez live in El Centro.

IID Division 3 Director Lloyd W. Allen of Calipatria is being challenged by longtime political activist Ruben A. Garcia of Brawley.


Division 5 Director Rudy Maldonado of Calexico is vying against Calexico City Councilman Gilbert B. Grijalva.

County Sheriff Harold Carter of El Centro is being challenged by Chief Deputy Ernie Mendoza of Brawley in a rematch of the 1998 sheriff's runoff.

Elected county officials who did not draw opposition were:

· Assessor Jose M. Rodriguez Jr. of Calexico;

· Auditor Douglas Newland of El Centro;

· Clerk/Recorder Dolores Provencio of Holtville;

· District Attorney Gilbert G. Otero of Brawley;

· Public Administrator Norma Saikhon of Brawley;

· Treasurer/Tax Collector Donna D. Yarnell of El Centro.

Two local candidates are running for the state Assembly 80th District seat. The 80th District includes Imperial and parts of Riverside counties.

Incumbent Assemblyman David Kelley did not file nomination papers because he plans to retire when his term is up. Republican Blake Miles of El Centro and Democrat Ramon Saucedo of Imperial face five Riverside County candidates for their party's nomination in the March primary. The candidates from Riverside are:

· Joey Acuña (D) of Coachella;

· Bonnie Garcia (R) of Cathedral City;

· Anna Nevenic (R) of Palm Springs;

· John Peña (R), mayor of La Quinta;

· Greg Pettis (D) of Cathedral City.

No local candidates filed for the 40th state Senate district seat. The district includes all Imperial County, east to include rural and incorporated parts of south San Diego County and north to include Riverside County to Interstate 10 at Cathedral City.

The newly redrawn district does not include the residence of incumbent state Sen. Jim Batten, R-37. Candidates for the 40th state Senate race are all from San Diego:

· Denise Moreno Ducheny (D);

· Michael S. Giorgino (R);

· Felix Jeremiah Miranda (Libertarian).

A local candidate is challenging U.S. Rep. Bob Filner, D-San Diego, for the Democratic nomination in the 51st congressional race.

Daniel C. Ramirez of Calexico is the only other Democrat in the 51st congressional race. Other candidates in the 51st race include:

· Guillermo "Willie" Durazo (R) of Chula Vista;

· Maria Guadalupe Garcia (R) of Chula Vista;

· John Gipson (Independent) of National City;

· Jeffrey S. Keup (L) of San Diego.

>> Staff Writer Laura Mitchell can be reached at 337-3452 or

Imperial Valley Press Online Articles