It's official: Allen retains IID seat by 139 votes

March 15, 2002|By RUDY YNIGUEZ, Staff Writer

The election results are final — Lloyd Allen was re-elected to the Division 3 seat on the Imperial Irrigation District Board of Directors by 139 votes.

Allen, elected to his sixth term on the IID board, beat Ruben A. Garcia Jr. in a race that had Garcia ahead after election night.

In the final tally — though officially still in the ballot canvassing period — Allen ended up with 7,555 votes, or 50.15 percent, and Garcia took 7,416 votes, or 49.23 percent.

After the results were released, Allen, of Calipatria, thanked his wife, his supporters and all the people who voted for him. He said he will work as hard in the next four years as he has in the past.


"I'm glad it turned out this way," he said after reviewing the final numbers. "I'm going to go out and buy a new hat."

Garcia, of Brawley, wished Allen well.

"I tried my best," Garcia said. "It wasn't meant to be. I wish (Allen) good luck. We both ran a clean race."

Garcia said he doesn't know if he'll seek a recount. He said he will have to consult on the issue with those close to him.

"I don't know if it'll do any good," he said.

Election night results had Garcia on top with 6,735 votes, or 49.84, while Allen had 6,686, or 49.48 percent.

There were 1,600 provisional ballots yet to be counted, however.

Dolores Provencio, county elections official, said election results reflect 126 IID precincts, but the actual number is 125. She said the 126 number is a typographical error, that once entered into the system could not be changed. She said she will have to explain the error to the secretary of state's office.

In other major county races, the outcomes were the same.

IID Division 1: Andy Horne, 9,479 votes; Johnny Hernandez, 5,535.

IID Division 5: Rudy Maldonado, 8,964 votes; Gilbert Grijalva, 5,944.

District 1 county supervisor: Victor Carrillo, 2,392 votes; Tony Tirado, 2,141.

District 5 county supervisor: Wally Leimgruber, 1,448 votes; Esteban "Steve" Vasquez, 1,284.

Sheriff/Coroner: Harold Carter, 8,813 votes: Ernie Mendoza, 7,236.

The results show a total of 48,336 registered voters in the county. Of those, 37.29 percent voted, or 18,024.

>> Staff Writer Rudy Yniguez can be reached at 337-3440.

Imperial Valley Press Online Articles