YOU ARE HERE: IVPress HomeCollections

Holtville's Hartshorn named ACSA teacher of the year

March 25, 2002|By DORA DEPAOLI, Staff Writer

HOLTVILLE — Charles Hartshorn and various other locals were recognized at a recent Holtville Unified School District board meeting.

Hartshorn, who has taught for 36 years in the district, received the Association of California School Administration teacher of the year award. Six other teachers in the county also were honored this year.

A third-grade teacher at Finley Elementary School for many of those years, Hartshorn was nominated for the award by Bette Martinez, projects director for the district.

"It just amazes me that he has taught 36 years and is still so enthused about kids and the next day," Martinez said. "He is so good with kids. He is so fair and always thinks the best of kids and provides them with the best education. Whatever a kid needs, that is what they will get. He treats them as individuals."


Finley Principal Jacki Hester echoed those sentiments.

"He is always ready and willing to try something new. He is one of two teachers piloting the accelerated math program, he is on the technology committee and on the peer assistance review panel and does after-school tutoring.

"He has the energy of a first-year teacher," Hester said. "Words to describe him are fairness and respect for students, parents, colleagues and support staff."

Born and raised in Holtville, Hartshorn is a graduate of Holtville High School and earned his bachelor's degree from then San Diego State.

Hartshorn said he feels "very honored" at being named teacher of the year for ACSA. Earlier he was presented with an award in San Diego, and a reception was held for the selected teachers by the Imperial County School Board Association and the local ACSA. All the teachers received a $200 gift certificate to The Book Nook in El Centro.

Others recognized included the students of the year from Holtville Middle School. Those will be listed on the Youth page of this newspaper.

The work of the block scheduling committee members was recognized. Those involved included Ron Thornburg, Lisa Natwick, Susie Hawk, Lendal Macon, Daniel Vizcarra, Judy Morse, Vicki Wells, Deanna Elmer and Mariana Garewal.

FFA grand champions and the top showman also were acknowledged. None was able to be present as they were studying for finals.

The Holtville High School speech program was recognized for receiving the Western States Communication Association award for having a model communication curriculum for the K-12 area west of the Mississippi.

Accepting the award was Andara Macdonald, speech teacher at Holtville High for 31 years.

Imperial Valley Press Online Articles